Questions and answers

Which town or city is the gateway to the winelands of the Western Cape and why?

Which town or city is the gateway to the winelands of the Western Cape and why?

Brackenfell is a town in the Western Cape province of South Africa at the gateway to the Cape Winelands.

Where does the Western Cape start and end?

The Western Cape Province is roughly L-shaped, extending north and east from the Cape of Good Hope, in the southwestern corner of South Africa.

How many Harbours are in the Western Cape?

The 12 fishing harbours including Stilbaai, Lamberts Bay, St Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay, Gansbaai, Arniston, Kleinmond, Hermanus, Struisbaai, Gordon’s Bay, Kalk Bay and Hout Bay, all have a critical role to fulfil in attracting long-term investment and supporting fishing communities by providing them with access to other …

What is the suburb of Western Cape?

The suburbs in the area include Rondebosch, Claremont, Plumstead, Ottery, Wynberg, Newlands, Constantia and Bishopscourt, Pinelands, Observatory, Tokai, Bergvliet, Kenilworth and Steenberg.

Which town or city is the gateway to the Namaqualand?

Springbok is the city centre or ‘big town’ of Namaqualand. It is in the North-West of the Northern Cape.

What is the gateway airport to the Winelands area?

Cape Town International Airport Serving South Africa’s Cape destinations such as Cape Town, Whale Coast and the Cape Winelands, this is the gateway airport for the Garden Route and Eastern Cape.

Which towns falls under Western Cape?

  • City of Cape Town.
  • Cape Winelands District Municipality.
  • Breede Valley Local Municipality.
  • Drakenstein Local Municipality.
  • Langeberg Local Municipality.
  • Stellenbosch Local Municipality.
  • Witzenberg Local Municipality.
  • Central Karoo District Municipality.

Where is Western Cape located in the world?

South Africa
Western Cape, province, South Africa, situated in the southern extremity of the African continent. The provincial capital, Cape Town, is also the country’s legislative capital.

How many Harbours are in South Africa?

The national ports authority provides port infrastructure and marine services at the eight commercial seaports in South Africa.

What is the biggest Harbour in South Africa?

Port of Durban
The Port of Durban, commonly called Durban Harbour, is the largest and busiest shipping terminal in sub-Saharan Africa. It handles up to 31.4 million tons of cargo each year….

Port of Durban
Location Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Coordinates Coordinates:29.8732°S 31.0245°E

What suburb is Athlone?

Athlone is a suburb of Cape Town located to the east of the city centre on the Cape Flats, south of the N2 highway….Athlone, Cape Town.

• Coloured 82.8%
• Indian/Asian 4.1%
• White 1.1%
• Other 3.5%

Is Mitchells Plain a suburb?

2011 Census suburb Mitchells Plain includes the following sub-places: Bay View, Beacon Valley, Colorado, Eastridge, Lentegeur, Mandalay, Mitchells Plain Town Centre, Portland, Rocklands, San Remo, Strandfontein, Strandfontein Village, Tafelsig, Wavecrest, Weltevreden Valley, Westgate, Westridge (Mitchells Plain).

When did the Western Cape Province get its coat of arms?

The new coat of arms for the Province of the Western Cape was approved and enacted by Provincial Parliament in 1998. (Act No 7 of 1998: Western Cape Provincial Coat of Arms Act, 1998).

What is the motto of the Western Cape?

The motto is SPES BONA meaning “good hope” and is printed on a riband with the foldbacks in the form of 2 ostrich feathers, the latter being a well-known commodity of the Little Karoo. The new coat of arms serves to enhance the identity and dignity of the Western Cape.

What are the regions of the Western Cape?

The Western Cape can be divided in the following regions: The Cape Peninsula. View on Table Mountain. Plettenberg Bay – Plettenberg Bay, nicknamed Plet or Plett, is the primary town of the Bitou Local Municipality in the Western Cape Province of South Africa.

What was the name of the former Cape Province?

The former Cape Province was divided into the Western Cape, Northern Cape, Eastern Cape and part of North West. In the 1994 election the Western Cape was one of two provinces that did not elect an African National Congress (ANC) provincial government (the other being KwaZulu-Natal).