What medals are awarded for bravery?

What medals are awarded for bravery?

The five highest-ranking military medals for bravery in combat include the Congressional Medal of Honor, the Distinguished Service Cross (DSC), the Navy Cross, the Air Force Cross and the Silver Star Medal.

How do you find out what medals were awarded?

Individuals can request information on military service medals, decorations and awards online: https://www.archives.gov/personnel-records-center/awards-and-decorations.

What is the difference between the George Cross and the George Medal?

The George Medal is presented to those performing acts of bravery in, or meriting recognition by, the United Kingdom. The George Medal (GM) is the second highest, to the George Cross (GC), gallantry medal that a civilian can be awarded.

Can you wear the op Althea medal?

For service in the Balkans, UK personnel are permitted to wear this medal with the in theatre (yellow stripe) ribbon, those qualifying for the HQ medal have not been granted permission to wear.

What is the highest award given for bravery?

Param Vir Chakra — Highest-military award in India. Awarded for national bravery in the presence of the enemy. Maha Vir Chakra – Maha Vir Chakra is the second-highest military decoration in India and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

What is the highest Medal awarded for bravery?

The Medal of Honor
The Medal of Honor is the highest military honor presented for valor. It is also the only military award that is congressionally approved for presentation by the President.

What is the highest civilian award for bravery?

Secretary of Defense Medal for Valor
An act of heroism or sacrifice, with voluntary risk of personal safety in the face of danger either on or off the job. The Office of the Secretary of the Defense Medal for Valor is the highest civilian award for valor presented by the United States Department of Defense.

Can you wear NATO medals?

The NATO Meritorious Service Medal is now authorized for wear on U.S., Canadian and British military uniforms.

What kind of medals are awarded for bravery?

This list of medals for bravery is an index to articles about notable medals awarded for bravery or valor. These medals, usually associated with military forces, police forces, or other public safety entities, are given to personnel who have served with gallantry, often for those who have engaged in specific acts of bravery or valor.

Who are the winners of the National Bravery Award?

In 2001, Scholastic published a commemorative book featuring the winners of the 1999 National Bravery Awards. The book was entitled Brave Hearts. Each year, the ICCW receives applications for the National Bravery Award.

How many medals did China win for bravery?

China – Hong Kong: Medal for Bravery (Gold) (1997–) Medal for Bravery (Silver) (1997–) Medal for Bravery (Bronze) (1997–) 1 Medal for Bravery (Gold) (1997–) 2 Medal for Bravery (Silver) (1997–) 3 Medal for Bravery (Bronze) (1997–)

Who was awarded the Medal of bravery in September 11, 2001?

Awarded by the government of the United States, created specifically to honor the public safety officers who were killed in the line of duty during the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks at the World Trade Center and The Pentagon