What do Nymphalidae feed on?

What do Nymphalidae feed on?

The caterpillar of the sweetpotato butterfly, Acraea acerata Hewitson (Lepidoptera: Nymphalidae), feeds mainly on sweetpotato leaves. Young caterpillars feed on the upper leaf surface, whereas older larvae eat the whole leaf except for the primary midribs culminating in complete defoliation in severe attacks.

What do members of their family Nymphalidae Brush footed have in common?

The Nymphalidae are members of the Superfamily Papilionoidea, the true butterflies. Wing shape is also highly variable: some species have irregular margins (anglewings and commas), and others have long taillike projections (daggerwings). …

What is another word for Nymphalidae?

They are also called brush-footed butterflies or four-footed butterflies, because they are known to stand on only four legs while the other two are curled up; in some species, these forelegs have a brush-like set of hairs, which gives this family its other common name.

Do butterflies only have 4 legs?

ANSWER: All butterflies have six legs, it just looks like four! The last set of your butterfly’s legs is tucked up high on the thorax and is very easily overlooked!

How many legs does a caterpillar have?

Caterpillars, like any other insect, have six true legs, located on their thorax, right behind their head. In most cases, however, their true legs don’t do much in terms of helping the caterpillar move around.

Do butterflies have teeth?

Butterflies don’t have teeth but they do have a proboscis. A proboscis is basically an elongated snout that can straighten by hydrostatic pressure, allowing them to drink the nectar from tube-like flowers. Some butterflies also like to feed on rotting fruit when flowers aren’t available.

Do butterflies have eyes?

Butterflies have two eyes just like we do. But butterfly eyes are called compound eyes because they have many, many lenses. That means butterflies can see many different things in many directions all at the same time. Most butterflies can see red, yellow, blue, and green, but some species can see other colors, too.