Helpful tips

How much is the penalty for late registration of vehicle in Kentucky?

How much is the penalty for late registration of vehicle in Kentucky?

There is a $2 lien filing fee and 3 percent interest for the first 30 days the registration is overdue. After that 30 days, the penalty is 10 percent interest per month; and then a 15 percent per annum interest will apply, which is computed daily.

How do I renew my expired registration in KY?

Renewing Your Registration In Person

  1. Photo ID ​
  2. Kentucky certificate of registration.
  3. Current original (not a copy) proof of Kentucky insurance effective date within 45 days​
  4. Money for fees and applicable taxes (check with your County Clerk’s office for accepted forms of payment)

Is there a grace period for expired tags in KY?

The expiration date of vehicle or vessel registration certificates, vehicle license plates, vehicle tag certificates and handicapped parking permits and other deadlines mandated by the Department of Vehicle Registration, including lien filings, are hereby extended for a period of 90 days, subsequent to their current …

How much does it cost to renew expired tags in Kentucky?

Common registration renewal fees for vehicles with regular KY plates are: Standard non-commercial vehicle: $21. Motorcycle: $18.50.

Can you renew car registration online in Kentucky?

Kentucky allows you to renew your registration either by mail, online, or in person. If you have your current address on file with the DMV, own your vehicle, and have proof of car insurance on file you will be able to register online.

What happens if your tags are expired Kentucky?

If your registration is 6 months or more overdue, it can be impounded or become a moving violation.

When does your car registration expire in Kentucky?

Your registration will typically expire during your birth month. However, to determine your exact DMV registration renewal status and when you are subject to renew, check your renewal notice form or contact your local Kentucky County Clerk’s office.

When do you need to renew your license plate in Kentucky?

As a vehicle owner in Kentucky, it is your responsibility to complete a car registration renewal every year before your license plates expire. You must be aware of when your registration expires so that you can complete the renewal before you face any legal consequences for driving with expired registration documents.

Can a leased car be renewed online in KY?

Leased vehicles cannot be renewed online. The vehicle (s) renewed must have unexpired registration (s). The owner of the vehicle (s) cannot have overdue property taxes on any other vehicles they own. The vehicle (s) must be insured for at least 45 days with the same insurance company for database verification.

What to do if you lost your car registration in Kentucky?

If you have lost a registration renewal notice or you simply did not receive the notice in the mail, you may contact your local Kentucky County Clerk’s office to inquire about receiving another notice. There are a few different renewal methods that you can choose from.