Are there grades of cast iron?

Are there grades of cast iron?

Farmer’s Copper carries three main grades of casted iron products: V-2 (class 40) Gray Iron, V-3 (65-45-12) Ductile Iron, and V-4 (80-55-06) Ductile Iron. These products offer excellent compression strength and high vibration dampening capability.

What is the classification of cast iron?

Presently the common classification scheme divides cast irons into four basic types. These are (i) white cast iron, (ii) gray cast iron, (iii) ductile cast iron, and (iv) malleable cast iron.

What is grade GREY cast iron?

Gray iron, or grey cast iron, is a type of cast iron that has a graphitic microstructure. It is named after the gray color of the fracture it forms, which is due to the presence of graphite. It is the most common cast iron and the most widely used cast material based on weight.

What is meant by SG iron?

SG Iron is also known as Ductile Cast Iron, Nodular Cast Iron, Spheroidal Graphite Iron and Spherulitic Cast Iron. This grade of Iron was developed over 60 years ago and in the USA. In SG Cast Iron the graphite is in the form of spherical nodules (hence the name Spheroidal Graphite) rather than flakes as in Grey Iron.

What is cast iron composition?

Cast iron, an alloy of iron that contains 2 to 4 percent carbon, along with varying amounts of silicon and manganese and traces of impurities such as sulfur and phosphorus. It is made by reducing iron ore in a blast furnace.

What is cast iron PPT?

 Iron with 1.7 to 4.5% carbon and 0.5 to 3% silicon  Lower melting point and more fluid than steel (better castability)  Low cost material usually produced by sand casting  A wide range of properties, depending on composition & cooling rate  Strength  Hardness  Ductility  Thermal conductivity  Damping capacity.

Is GREY cast iron a specification?

Grey cast iron is characterized by its graphitic microstructure. Most cast irons have a chemical composition of 2.5 to 4.0% carbon, 1 to 3% silicon, and the remainder is iron. Nodular or ductile cast iron is a more recent development.

What is the tensile strength of gray cast iron of Class 20?

What would be the tensile strength of gray cast iron of class 20? Explanation: Tensile strength of gray cast iron of class 20 is 163 MPa.

Which is higher class 20 or 25 cast iron?

ASTM A48 class 25 is a material grade of gray cast iron in USA, which is higher than class 20, but lower than class 30. Its UNS number is F11701.

What is the hardness of A48 Class 25 cast iron?

There are four specific grades as ASTM A48 class 25A, 25B, 25C and 25S. Mechanical Properties of A48 Class 25 Cast Iron: Its minimum tensile strength is 172 Mpa. The gray cast iron is brittle, so there is no requirements to yield strength and elongation. Its hardness range is BH 170-229.

What is the chemical composition of cast iron gg25?

EN-GJL-250, CAST IRON GG25. The normal chemical composition should be C = 2.8-3.3, Si = 1.2-1.7, Mn = 0.8-1.2, P ≤ 0.15, S ≤ 0.12. Please notice, the chemical composition can not be taken as material quality inspection standard. In all standards, the chemical composition is just for reference.

Is the en-gjl-250 grade cast iron required?

This grade has comparatively high tensile strength, and will not need additional heat treatment, so its production cost is still kept low.