Which countries are part of BIMSTEC?

Which countries are part of BIMSTEC?

Headquartered in Dhaka, BIMSTEC is an inter-regional grouping that seeks to foster regional and economic cooperation among nations in the littoral and adjacent areas of the Bay of Bengal — India, Thailand, Myanmar, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Bhutan.

How many countries are in BIMSTEC?

seven Member States
It constitutes seven Member States: five deriving from South Asia, including Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and two from Southeast Asia, including Myanmar and Thailand.

What is Saarc and BIMSTEC?

The two organisations—SAARC and BIMSTEC—focus on geographically overlapping regions. SAARC is a purely regional organisation, whereas BIMSTEC is interregional and connects both South Asia and ASEAN. BIMSTEC provides SAARC countries a unique opportunity to connect with ASEAN.

When did Myanmar join BIMSTEC?

Myanmar was admitted in Dec 1997 and the organization was renamed as BIMST-EC. The grouping expanded when Nepal and Bhutan were admitted in Feb 2004.

When did Bhutan join BIMSTEC?

The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation was founded in 1997. Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand are the seven member states of BIMSTEC. Bhutan joined the organization in 2004.

When did Nepal join BIMSTEC?

8 February 2004
Nepal joined BIMSTEC on 8 February 2004.

How can Nepal benefit from BIMSTEC?

Nepal can also utilise the BIMSTEC development fund to fight poverty. Moreover, BIMSTEC is the ideal platform to provide greater visibility to Nepal in the Indo-Pacific region. In present times, the Bay of Bengal region is one of the world’s least integrated regions in terms of trade, connectivity and cooperation.

Why is BIMSTEC so important for India?

BIMSTEC connects India’s northeast with BIMSTEC countries and act as a platform to realize India’s Neighbourhood First Policy and Act East Policy. The cooperation enables economic development in the region, removing its isolated nature and address the issues faced by the region and also provides better connectivity.

Can BIMSTEC replace SAARC Upsc?

The central question now arises, can BIMSTEC replace SAARC? (UPSC perspective). The answer is ‘No’. SAARC is an alliance formed to help the South Asian countries, and so does BIMSTEC. However, BIMSTEC can work as a supplement for connecting South Asian countries with East Asian countries.

Is Pakistan member of BIMSTEC?

Collectively, these countries have significant potential to boost trade and economic growth within the region. Established much earlier, in 1985, the SAARC comprises five countries that are also part of BIMSTEC—Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka—as well as Afghanistan, Pakistan and the Maldives.

Why is BIMSTEC important to Bhutan?

BIMSTEC assigns Bhutan to take lead role in the environment and climate change sector. Bhutan has been assigned to take the lead role in the environment and climate change sector among the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) member states.

Is Pakistan part of BIMSTEC?

Where are the BIMSTEC States located in the world?

The BIMSTEC states are those which are on the shore or are adjacent to the Bay of Bengal and are dependent on it. It was formed on 6 th of June 1997, through the Bangkok declaration and is headquartered at Dhaka in Bangladesh.

What are the objectives and objectives of BIMSTEC?

BIMSTEC stands for Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation. A regional group of 7 nations lying adjacent to the Bay of Bengal to promote cooperation in the economic and social progress of the area. Promoting economic activities through improved connectivity.

Where was the 17th BIMSTEC ministerial meeting held?

The 17th BIMSTEC Ministerial Meeting was held on 1st April 2021. It was chaired by Sri Lanka and was held in a virtual mode with the participation of all BIMSTEC Member State. The decision regarding the 5th BIMSTEC summit 2021 was also discussed by all member states and Sri Lanka is scheduled to hold the summit in the coming few months.

What are the sectors of BIMSTEC Bay of Bengal?

Starting with six sectors—including trade, technology, energy, transport, tourism and fisheries—for sectoral cooperation in the late 1997, it expanded to embrace nine more sectors—including agriculture, public health, poverty alleviation, counter-terrorism, environment, culture, people to people contact and climate change—in 2008.