What are the types of atrial septal defect?

What are the types of atrial septal defect?

There are 3 major types of ASDs or interatrial communications: ostium secundum, ostium primum, and sinus venosus (Figure 1A) defects. The ostium secundum is a true defect of the atrial septum and involves the region of the fossa ovalis.

What is ostium primum and secundum?

The ostium primum completely closes; however, before this occurs, a central perforation appears in septum primum, allowing continuous unrestricted flow from the right atrium to the left atrium. This perforation, the second opening in the septum primum, is called ostium secundum.

What is septum secundum?

The septum secundum is a fold of the dorsal atrial myocardium, begins forming from the cranial aspect of the atria, and forms the roof of the foramen ovale. From: Cellular and Molecular Pathobiology of Cardiovascular Disease, 2014.

What is ostium secundum?

An ostium secundum ASD is a hole in the center of the atrial septum. Normally, the right side of the heart pumps oxygen-poor blood to the lungs, while the left side pumps oxygen-rich blood to the body. An ASD allows blood from both sides to mix, causing the heart to work less efficiently.

What is foramen secundum?

Anatomical terminology The foramen secundum, or ostium secundum is a foramen in the septum primum, a precursor to the interatrial septum of the human heart. It is not the same as the foramen ovale, which is an opening in the septum secundum.

What is Interatrial shunt?

Interatrial shunt devices represent a class of devices with a unique mechanism to directly reduce left atrial pressures, improve exercise tolerance and potentially improve clinical outcomes and heart failure.

What is interatrial groove?

A shallow furrow on the posterior surface of the heart that marks the boundary between the right and left atria. It runs approximately perpendicular to the atrioventricular groove, which it meets at the same point as does the posterior interventricular groove.