What are the ten events that make up the decathlon?

What are the ten events that make up the decathlon?

The ten events that make up the decathlon are spread over two days and include the 100-meter sprint, long jump, shot put, high jump and 400-meter run on the first day, followed by the 110-meter hurdles, discus throw, pole vault, javelin throw and 1500-meter run on the second day.

What was the world record for decathlon in 1950?

Four years later in Helsinki, after setting his first world record in 1950, he won by the astonishing margin of 912 points with a world record tally of 7887 to become the first man to successfully defend an Olympic decathlon title.

How many points can you get in a decathlon?

It is considered to be the Super Bowl of decathlon. Athletes score points in each event as decided by the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF). The maximum points that can be scored in any event is 1,000 points, which means, there are 10,000 points up for grabs after the completion of the 10 events.

How many gold medals has the USA won in decathlon?

Ashton Eaton’s victory at the 2016 Olympics was the 14th decathlon gold medal for the USA, who have been the most dominant nation in the event by a long way as no other country has won more than two gold medals. In similar fashion, the USA has been the most successful nation at the IAAF World Championships with nine gold medals in 15 editions.

Where does the word decathlon come from in Greek?

The word decathlon is of Greek origin, from δέκα (déka, meaning “ten”) and ἄθλος (áthlos, or ἄθλον, áthlon, meaning “contest” or “prize”).

When was the first Olympics for the decathlon?

Points are awarded for each event, and the competitor with the highest aggregate score is declared the winner. The decathlon made its first Olympic appearance at the 1912 Games in Stockholm.

Who is the current world record holder in the decathlon?

The current world record holder is Kevin Mayer from France with 9126 points which he set on September 16, 2018 in Talence, France. At major championships, the women’s equivalent of the decathlon is the seven-event heptathlon; prior to 1981 it was the five-event pentathlon.