What are the 13 colonies of the United States?

What are the 13 colonies of the United States?

The U.S.: 13 Colonies: Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia . (13) Create custom quiz.

How many times have you played 13 colonies?

If you want to practice offline, download our printable 13 colonies maps in pdf format and our map scavenger hunt worksheet. This game in English was played 307 times yesterday.

When did the Thirteen Colonies join the British Empire?

By 1774, colonists still hoped to remain part of the British Empire, but discontentment was widespread concerning British rule throughout the Thirteen Colonies. Colonists elected delegates to the First Continental Congress which convened in Philadelphia in September 1774.

How did the Thirteen Colonies win their independence?

American Revolution. General Washington took command of the Patriot soldiers in New England and forced the British to withdraw from Boston. In 1776, the Thirteen Colonies declared their independence from Britain. With the help of France and Spain, they defeated the British in the American Revolutionary War.

What was the religion of the 13 colonies?

Religion in the Original 13 Colonies By the year 1702 all 13 American colonies had some form of state-supported religion. This support varied from tax benefits to religious requirements for voting or serving in the legislature. Below are excerpts from colonial era founding documents citing these religious references.

How did the governments of the Thirteen Colonies work?

The governments of the colonies were formed in different manners and with various structures. Each colony was set up in a way so that by the mid-1700s, they had a strong capacity for self-government and held local elections. Some foreshadowed elements that would be found in the U.S. government after independence.

When did the Thirteen Colonies declare their independence?

On July 4, 1776, the thirteen colonies declared themselves free and independent states at the Second Continental Congress by signing the Declaration of Independence. The Revolutionary War ended at Yorktown in October 1781, when Americans captured the British army there.

Are there any great movies about the colonies?

While tensions were still high between Native Americans and settlers, the English and French both offered deals to Native Americans, dividing tribes and forcing them to fight one another. The movie also does a good job of portraying of the day-to-day activities, as well as recreating the time period, with dress, weapons, and even military tactics.